Great Value for Money and Released Today

2012-04-03 11.16.58The paperback of “A Hell for Heroes” was released by Hodder and Stoughton today 29 August 2013. Priced at only £7.99 (Hardback is £18.99 and Kindle is £9.99) its great value for money.

13 Responses to “Great Value for Money and Released Today”

  1. Eddie Rayner Says:

    Just read a hell for heros. I have to say not many books I’ve read have made me think so deeply and consider how my time in the forces affected my life after I left. I’m also shocked how poetry, something I’ve never liked can instantly tell a story and fill your head with images and emotions. When I picked this book up and read the back I nearly put it down because of the poetry. I’m so glad I didn’t . Fantastic book thanks.

    • Hi Eddie

      Thanks for buying my book and I’m really glad you enjoyed it. Thanks also for your kind words, it wasn’t the easiest thing in the world to write as it brought back many happy, and sometimes very painful memories. I’m honoured to know that I’ve been the first to introduce you to poetry, all poetry should tell a story, and as you can now see its not all flowers and lace hankies.

      You take care.

      Theo

  2. maggie bolton Says:

    read your book while away on holiday,my husband bought the book for himself but I got to it first,I am so glad that I did I could not put the book down once I had started and loved the poetry it really did put a different angle on it and made you think long and hard.

    • Hi Maggie

      Thanks to both Your husband for buying my book, and to you for reading it and taking the time to comment on it here. I’m glad you enjoyed it, it wasn’t the easiest thing to write. I hope your holiday was everything you hoped it would be.

      You take care.

      Theo

  3. Dear Theo,
    I bought ‘A Hell for Heroes’ the other day whilst at work. I have read a number of books by former (the word ‘ex’ does not do justice to those men and women who serve their country) soldiers and can honestly say that yours is the best so far.

    It was unputdownable. So, I finished it within a day and a half. Your use of poetry made the images stand out more and definitely gave added value to the book.

    I have never served, but appreciate and respect everyone who has and does. And, I’m glad that the Armed Forces are receiving more and more public appreciation than they have had, due largely in part to books such as yours.

    So, I offer a salute from a L/Cpl (in the Army Cadets at school) as a thank you for a truly magnificent book. I look forward to any others that you have in the pipeline.

    All the very best,
    Kurt.

    • Hi Kurt

      Sorry for the delay in getting back to you but I’ve been really busy with the second book. Thanks for buying my book and the taking the time to leave such a great comment, I feel very privileged. Although its not considered to be very macho to write poetry, I think if most soldiers were honest, we have all written some at one stage or another, most of mine were taken from notes I wrote soon after the event, I used them to clear my head.

      You take care, and thanks again.

      Theo

  4. Dear Theo,
    Thank you for taking the time out of your extremely busy schedule to reply. With all the writing you have / are doing, I hope it is / was of cathartic value, this I feel is evident from the quality of your book. Keep up the excellent work.
    All the very best,
    Kurt

  5. James Cowley Says:

    Dear Theo

    I have read your book and simply wish to thank you for allowing us to share the journey you have followed. I can only imagine how hard it must have been to cast your mind back and recall some of those dark moments.

    It is easy for non military types like me to become enthralled at the mystique of the military, particularly the Special Forces, and be completely ignorant of the challenges you face both in the field and after completing your various missions and into civilian life.

    There are so many novels and shows portraying the glory of our Special Forces; this is the first I have read that describes the bravery and support you provide to both military and civilians… you really do give a real real life perspective.

    Again, many thanks for sharing your story; deep respect to you and Mrs Knell and family and good luck onward.

    James

    • Hi James

      Thanks very much for first buying my book, then taking the time to leave such a positive response to what you read. You’re right the book did take some writing, and all credit goes to my agent and publisher who dragged me back, sometime kicking and screaming, to places I swore I would never visit again.

      Thanks again. You take care.

      Theo

  6. Pieter Burger Says:

    Hi Theo

    Thought you might find it interesting that I have just finished reading Hell for Heroes in Mosgiel, New Zealand – I could identify strongly with what you wrote and your poems spoke to me – I served as a South African Para when we had our senseless little Border war.

    If you ever come down-under e-mail me and I will show you and your family around and you have a place to stay with us. Thanks for the ANZAC message – as a “new” Kiwi ANZAC day holds deep meaning for me.

    Cheers

    Pieter

    • Hi Pieter

      Thanks for the offer and for buying my book, both are greatly appreciated. I served with a lot of South Africans during the Rhodesian bush war, great soldiers and fantastic friends, I loved the bush and miss it and them terribly. I wish you and your family much happiness in your new country, my wife and I now live in a tiny mountain village in Spain and both love it, a very warm and generous people, and of course the heat is great for old wounds.

      You take care

      Theo

  7. Willem Botha Says:

    Dear Theo,

    Thank you so much for writing A Hell for Heroes, I have never had a book grip me so emotionally when describing the soldier’s viewpoint of war. It also helped me gain a lot of understanding, my brother-in-law’s father was in the South African special forces (Recces), and what you described made me feel so much more empathy for him and made me wish I got to know him better (sadly, passed away in a car accident a few years ago).

    I have to say, I am very much looking forward to your next book.

    The book has made me more understanding of the need for support for troops after a war has ended, and you are in my prayers. Hope all is well.

    • Dear Willem

      Thank you for your kind words. The book was not the easiest of things to write, as both my publisher and agent insisted on dragging my mind back to places I swore I would never visit again But that said, if it provided just one person with a little more insight as to what soldiers go through when the bullets stop flying, it was more than worth it. You obviously realised that I spent time in Rhodesia during the bush war, and when it was over a lot of my friends, those who were in the Rhodesian SAS, the Selous Scouts, and the Rhodesian Light Infantry made their way down to South Africa and joined the Recce’s, sadly many of them didn’t make it any further.

      I hope life is treating you well. You take care.

      Theo

Leave a comment